The Scientific Committee includes Product and Research Theme Leaders. The Product Platform Leader represents the interests of ATTONUCLEI’s industrial partners by identifying the high-priority product development opportunities for their respective industrial sectors. The Research Theme Leaders identify, within their own area of scientific specialization, the research activities that will be required to attain the product development objectives identified by the Product Platform Leader. In addition to selecting and reviewing projects submitted to Attonuclei, the Scientific Committee plays a role in the elaboration, review and recommendation of technology policy and strategy.

Prof. Serge LEFRANT

Serge Lefrant is at the present time Emeritus Professor at the University of Nantes. He started his scientific career at the CNRS (National Centre for Scientific Research). He obtained his PhD in 1975 and spent a post-doctoral year at Cornell University (Ithaca, N.Y., USA). He started a new field of activity in organic conducting polymers, working in particular intensively with Nobel Prize laureates, Prof. A. MacDiarmid and Prof A. Heeger in Philadelphia. In 1981, Serge Lefrant became Professor at the University of Nantes where he took several responsibilities being for example Vice-President of the University from 1997 to 1999, in charge of the research activities and became the director of the “Institut des Matériaux Jean Rouxel” from 2000 to 2008. He is still conducting research activities on carbon materials and nanoparticles by means of optical spectroscopies.

Prof. Tolga YARMAN

Graduated from Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Lyon, France (1967), with an Ms. Sc. in Chemical Engineering, Institute of Nuclear Energy, Technical University of Istanbul (TUI), Turkey (1968), with an M.Sc. in Nuclear Engineering, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA, with a Ph.D. in Nuclear Science & Engineering (1972). Appointed as an Associate Professor on Nuclear Sciences at the Institute of Nuclear Energy, TUI, in 1977, and as a Full Professor in 1982. Appointed as the Dean of Graduate School of Sciences of the University of Anatolia,  in 1983. Being awarded by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, Washington, D.C., enrolled as a Visiting Professor, Engineering Science Department, California Institute of Technology, in 1984. A member of the Nuclear Regulatory Committee (1975-1982), and the Advisory Board (1978-1982) of the Turkish Atomic Energy Commission. Appointed to represent the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Turkey, in Brussels, between the period of 1994-1997. Author of numerous books on energy, nuclear energy, nuclear reactor theory, relativity, quantum mechanics, nuclear arms race and defense strategies. Taught several courses in physical chemistry, atomistic, nuclear science; engineering, energy engineering, thermodynamics, fundamentals of physics, nuclear physics, and quantum mechanics. He also taught courses on nuclear arms race, defense industry, advanced technology, and technology transfer, at the Armed Forces Academy, in Istanbul.

error: Content is protected!